Rumi

I really don’t care for Valentine’s Day. But if asked about love, I would point to the poetry of Rumi to help describe it. I have a small framed piece as a gift from Matt with a quote from Rumi,

The minute I heard my first love story,

I started looking for you, not knowing how blind that was.

Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere

They’re in each other all along.

Rumi has a lot to say about love. His ability to put to words what is in my heart is grace. The songs of the poets, Rumi especially, kept me tethered when the ground disappeared. They kept me safe until I found the beauty in darkness, the spaciousness of not-knowing, and the miracle of mystery.

Leave a Reply

