Interior space

About 15 years ago, I had an experience that was ripe with significance, one that has never lost its shine. I don’t know how to put into words why this is. It was a sort of vision, a waking dream, a gift. It happened while I was sitting quietly in meditation. It was unexpected and unexplained but it swept over me with a fullness I have never been able to really express.
Sitting quietly, I was suddenly transported to another place. I was standing on a cliff, looking out over a seemingly endless vista. The only thing I can think of to compare it is the Grand Canyon, but that doesn’t get close, really. It was so vast, so huge. It was more than mortal eyes could take in, but somehow I was seeing it. There was a presence beside me. I don’t know how to explain this presence. I think of it as the witness. As I stood in this place of immeasurable space, I felt rather than heard the witness explain to me where I was, what I was seeing. This is your interior space.Then, suddenly, I was back on my cushion. I don’t know how long I sat there, overwhelmed. What did it mean? It felt spiritual, but also like it was practical. It spoke to me so deeply. I cannot put down on paper what it was like. Even now, all these years and personal transmutations later, it fills my heart.

grandcanyon1

