dark wings

Reading a friend’s blog on animal totems, I wondered what my animal totem would be, if I had one.  I sat and let my mind rest just to see if something popped up.  Maybe something cool like a white wolf or flashy like an eagle.  Imagine my surprise when the creature that popped in was a bat!

But bats are kind of scary, right?  Sort of symbolic of disease and death and yucky stuff.  But then I read that the bat is considered a pretty neat totem.  Some of the symbolism for the bat:

rebirth and transformation,

inner depth,

ability to see through illusion,

exploring the underbelly of reality,

comfort with darkness.

Then, a few minutes later, I ran across this piece of a poem by Wendell Berry:

To go in the dark with a light is to know the light.
To know the dark, go dark. Go without sight,
and find that the dark, too, blooms and sings,
and is traveled by dark feet and dark wings.

 

 

 

 

