Ten Thousand Idiots

Ten Thousand Idiots

It is always a danger
to aspirants on the Path

when they begin
to believe and act

as if the ten thousand idiots
who so long ruled and lived inside

have all packed their bags
and skipped town
or
died.
– Hafiz

Nirvana. Big Mind.  Spacious Mind.  Enlightenment.  Being Awake.  Centering.  Call it what you will.  It requires preparation.  A deconstruction is needed, a deconstruction of habitual thought patterns and limiting beliefs.  This provides the blank slate needed for true inquiry, leading to fresh insights.  When finally you understand that you don’t know, knowledge arises of its own volition.  Things you knew without knowing you knew them become a light for the darkness of not-knowing.

And who is this person experiencing the not-knowing?  It isn’t the same “I” who experienced the knowing.  It is a different “I”.  But who is this I?  It isn’t my thoughts.  They constantly change, they blow past like wispy clouds on a wind-swept day.

I am not I.

I am this one
Walking beside me whom I do not see,
Whom at times I manage to visit,
And whom at other times I forget;
The one who remains silent when I talk,
The one who forgives, sweet, when I hate,
The one who takes a walk where I am not,
The one who will remain standing when I die.

— Juan Ramón Jiménez

And is this not-knowing and no-self what we each experience on the Path?  Is there this solidarity in solitude?

And the more you become aware of the unknown self – if you become aware of it – the more you realize that it is inseparably connected with everything else that is.
– Alan Watts
When we try to pick out anything by itself, we find it hitched to everything else in the universe.  John Muir
