“No single event can awaken within us a stranger whose existence we had never suspected. To live is to be slowly born.”
Antoine de Saint Exupéry

“To be nobody but yourself  in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight, and never stop fighting.”  e.e. cummings

 

 

My religion is simple.  My religion is kindness.  Dalai Lama

There are times when silence is a lie.  Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

A book must be the axe for the frozen sea inside us.  Franz Kafka

Re/mindfulness:  As Sherlock Holmes pointed out, “I only see what you see, Doctor Watson, but I have trained myself to notice what I see.”

Only that day dawns to which we are awake.  Henry David Thoreau

To love oneself is the beginning of a lifelong romance.  Oscar Wilde

 

If you wish to create, as quickly as possible, real shelter from sorrow for both yourself and others – you should practice the holy secret teaching of the transposition of self and other.  Shantideva

“Each of us literally chooses, by his way of attending to things, what sort of universe he shall appear to himself to inhabit.”
– William James

Do not trample the earth, do not crush the sweet-smelling fruit.
For love of it, bend down, smell it and give it your mouth. – Gabriela Mistral

The root of all difficulty and conflict lies in the mind; therefore, the solution to all difficulty and conflict lies in changing the mind.  Kusan Sunim

Where would I possibly find enough leather
With which to cover the surface of the earth?
But just leather on the soles of my shoes
Is equivalent to covering the earth with it

Likewise it is not possible for me
To restrain the external course of things
But should I restrain this mind of mine
What would be the need to restrain all else?

—Shantideva

“Learning how to think really means learning how to exercise some control over how and what you think. It means being conscious and aware enough to choose what you pay attention to and to choose how you construct meaning from experience.”
– David Foster Wallace

In the end these things matter most:

How well did you love?

How fully did you live?

How deeply did you let go?

~The Buddha

Finally I am coming to the conclusion
that my highest ambition is to be what I already am.
That I will never fulfill my obligation
to surpass myself
unless I first accept myself,
and if I accept myself fully in the right way,
I will already have surpassed myself.
– Thomas Merton

The ability to simplify means to eliminate the unnecessary so that the necessary may speak.”

~Hans Hoffman

“There are two methods, or paths by which a soul chooses
to “wake up. “We either create a crisis that brings us to our knees, OR we simply decide that it makes sense to move on to a new way of living.”
~Michael Mirdad

Wisdom tells me I am nothing.  Love tells me I am everything.  Between the two my life flows.  Nisargadatta

“Simple things are always the most difficult.  In actual life it requires the greatest art to be simple, and so acceptance of oneself is the essence of the moral problem and the acid test of one’s whole outlook on life.  That I feed the beggar, that I forgive an insult, that I love my enemy…  all these are undoubtedly great virtues…

But what if I should discover that the least amongst them all, the poorest of all beggars, the most impudent of all offenders, yea, the very fiend himself-that these are within me, and that I myself stand in need of the alms of my own kindness, that I myself am the enemy who must be loved-what then?”  Carl Gustav Jung

“The search for truth is more precious than its possession.”  Albert Einstein

I have a friend who reads people’s auras. He sees all sorts of colors like green and red and purple. He says anyone can do it. All it takes is forgetting everything you think you know and just looking. I’ve tried it and even though I haven’t seen any colors yet, everyone I meet looks so beautiful when I stop knowing everything, that it’s pretty hard to go back to the old way. ~ Story People

“You can tell whether a man is clever by his answers.
You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions.”
-Naguib Mahfouz – Egyptian Novelist

 

“Do not speak unless you can improve the silence” – Proverb

When I do good, I feel good.  When I do bad, I feel bad.  That’s my religion.  Abraham Lincoln

The truth will set you free.
But not until it is finished with you.
-David Foster Wallace

