My beautiful child

She walks in beauty, like the night
Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
And all that’s best of dark and bright
Meet in her aspect and her eyes:
Thus mellow’d to that tender light
Which heaven to gaudy day denies.

One shade the more, one ray the less,
Had half impair’d the nameless grace
Which waves in every raven tress,
Or softly lightens o’er her face…

~Lord Byron

Reading this poem today, I was struck by how it seemed to be describing Desirae giving birth to Joshua.  If I’d had a video recorder with me for Joshua’s birth I would have been tempted to post it here for all to see, such a thing of beauty it was.  Rae has never been more beautiful than she is now and she was radiant during her birthing experience.  Since her 9 year old daughter (who, along with Tam, had never witnessed the birth of a child) was to be present, she had determined to internalize her suffering as much as possible and was doubly determined to stay focused and “in the zone” during her labor.  She was inspiring to watch as she controlled each stage of her labor.  Joshua was born very quickly and with only a couple of small, mewing moans at the last.  I was so impressed and inspired.

I realized that this same mind-set would serve me well.  To determine to stay on track, focused and in the present moment.  To wring from a day all of its life, beauty and dignity.  To recognize the sacred in the day and to pour love into each action.  To think more deeply about my impact on others than on my own pain.

Tam and I were  honored to be with Rae during this wonderful moment in time.  She is the most precious daughter and friend I could ever have hoped for.  She and little Josh are doing very well and Josh’s three siblings are fast in love with him already.  Peace to them and to all.

