Taylor

taylor20.jpgOne of my sheros is my granddaughter Taylor.  She is 9 years old, going on 100.  No, I swear, she is one of those children of which one would remark, “She has an old soul”.  I remember her as a baby having those wise eyes babies sometimes have, as if they haven’t yet forgotten the lessons of a past life.

This is why she is one of my sheros:

*She loves animals, all animals.  I seem to be missing this gene.  I kind of LIKE animals, but love them?  Not really.  This makes me feel like I’m lacking in love.

*She told me she wants to be a hippie when she grows up.  How could I not love that?  When I asked her what she meant, she replied, “You know Grandma, where I love people and animals instead of money and care about the earth and all that”.

*A couple of weeks ago she organized, on her own, a charity run for Cancer Research and the local Wildlife Org.  She got a bunch of kids together at a local park, a few teachers and the Principal, organized the race, along with a homemade trophy for the winner, etc.  She raised 60 dollars.

*Last week she went to the salon and had 12 inches cut off her hair for Locks of Love.

That is just a small example of why she is one of my sheros.  Plus, she is funny as hell, smart as a whip, and real.  I’ve never known anyone just like her.  Not even two digits yet and already making the world a better place.

